HomeKit Secure Video: delete recordings

HomeKit Secure Video delete recordings - HomeKit Secure Video: delete recordings

Security cameras have become increasingly affordable in recent years – and now there are also those that only or at least support Apple HomeKit. Anyone who relies on these types of components in their household may also look at cameras. If you use the recording in the iCloud and not the provider itself, you always have to consider something:

Apple HomeKit Secure Video, i.e. backing up events in iCoud, supports a maximum of 5 cameras per Apple account. You also need to have a corresponding iCloud subscription. One camera is supported in a 200 GB subscription, up to 5 are only available in a large package with 2 TB storage, which costs 9.99 euros. You have to do this for yourself. Do you use iCloud? Do you also need storage? Then it is a fair offer, pure clouds from video providers also cost money – without you getting cloud storage for others.

But it's not about the cost, but about how to delete the individual clips from the iCloud that such a camera recorded. I already presented some HomeKit cameras here on the blog. They can of course be set to "only streaming", but they can also record and notify you of events. It can be found in the camera settings in HomeKit under "Streaming & Recordings".

Interesting facts about the options in the settings:

Off: No surveillance, nothing, nada.

Detect activity: Motion detectors are used to send messages or to start automations that you have set up.

Stream: Everyone in the family with access to HomeKit cameras can call up a live stream of the camera. Nothing is recorded, but the camera can detect activity – this is used to send messages or to start automations that you have set up.

Allow streaming and recording: is almost everything. Every authorized user can see, recordings are made and activities can be identified.

If you have adjusted this for yourself, then maybe the day will come when recordings will accumulate. You can see that in the camera view using the date slider above.

HomeKit Secure Video delete recordings - HomeKit Secure Video: delete recordings

Do you want to delete individual recordings? Not immediately visible: The secret is the share button at the bottom right. This is not just about sharing, but also deleting individual clips. You can see how it all looks in the screenshot above this paragraph. So: select a day, select a video, click share, select a video so that it has a yellow frame and click on the trash – done.

HomeKit Secure Video in iOS 14: How to activate facial recognition and activity zones

Source link

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply